Lego Harry Potter

If you know me at all, you know I’m very easily persuaded to be a fangirl. I can squee with the best of them. I’ve never gone and held signs at any major events or anything like that, but I am very loyal to the franchises that I adore.

And, how could Harry Potter not be one that I totally adore? Anyone frequently referred to as a “bespectacled boy wizard” is awesome in my book. We all know the final film in the franchise is to be released tomorrow, July 15th, here in the states. Those lucky enough to be across the pond are already sitting through their third or fourth showing, I’m sure.

I, however, won’t be able to see this one in theaters. I’m hoping it will still be magical, even if it’s just cuddling on the couch in front of a DVD. I’m sure Harry wouldn’t mind. He knows how hard it can be to be a muggle. Right? Regardless, there’s still a final installment of the franchise that I am waiting for (admittedly, impatiently) after this final movie: Lego Harry Potter: Years 5-7.

The minute I saw a trailer for its predecessor, Lego Harry Potter: Years 1-4, I was smitten. It had charming jokes that followed the storyline which all meshed with what looked like delightful gameplay. Years 1-4 did not disappoint in the least.

TG and I had played a few of the Lego games on the Wii, but grew tired of them quickly. We weren’t invested in the franchises, nor were we entranced by the Wii’s random waggle control scheme. Playing Lego Harry Potter on the 360 made all the difference in the world.

The controls felt comfortable and made sense. There was no frustrating moments of, “Are my batteries dying? I just changed them, but this game is not responding!” But, more importantly, it was so much fun to play through the Harry Potter storylines as quirky Lego-styled caricatures of each beloved character.

TG and I loved playing together, working out the different puzzles to complete each level and finding all the house crests, students-in-peril, and, of course, the super exciting red blocks that can award fun bonuses. Nothing is better than hearing your husband gasp excitedly (in nearly his own version of a squee) after he’s spotted an owl perch that indicates a nearby red block.

Years 5-7 will be coming out this fall (November 15, 2011, according to our Amazon pre-order), and I am so excited. We plan to play through years 1-4 on my Xbox again right before it comes out, since TG is the one that has all the achievements right now, and that will amp up our hype even more.

I look forward to talking about how awesome it turns out but am also saddened that yet another door will be closing in the Potterverse. Maybe next we’ll get a line of Harry Potter Barbies or Pokemon. After all, “gotta avada ’em all” has an interesting ring to it.

About Amanda

Amanda is a 20-something flailing gamer. While she loves MMORPGs, the company in them often triggers flare-ups of her social anxiety. Her all-time favorite games include Everquest Online Adventures, Eternal Sonata, the Animal Crossing series, Katamari Damacy, and Rhapsody: A Musical Adventure. She lives on junk food, and her favorite books are equally trashy. She doesn't believe in putting two spaces after a period, but she does strongly believe in the serial comma. Unfortunately, she has a penchant for starting sentences with "and" and "but;" hopefully you won't hold that, or her excessive use of semicolons, against her.

Let me know what you think:

