TG and I don’t play everything together. Sometimes we even play different things right next to each other on the couch. There are, however, lots of things we do play together. Back when we first got our first Wii, we played Wii Sports like it was, well, lots of fun. At the time, it was. Plus, it got us exercise! Kind of.

We spent tons of time with Tennis. Occasionally we’d do a round of Bowling, and, even less frequently, we’d try a little Baseball. We never played Boxing. Never. Okay, so maybe we tried Boxing once. And maybe it didn’t go very well.

So, TG is much more coordinated than I am. I am awful at anything physical. TG was totally getting his little Mii to jab and cross, but I could not get my Mii to register that, ‘Hey, maybe we shouldn’t be getting smacked in the face so hard!’ She wouldn’t respond when I told her to punch, and she’d only kind of respond when I’d tell her to lean to the right before we got pummeled again.

I don’t know. I’m guessing she was just less coordinated than I was. Or my batteries were dying. Yeah, let’s go with that one. Regardless, TG’s little Mii, with his adorable glasses and mousey brown hair, was wailing on my little Mii. Before TG knew it, I was sobbing uncontrollably, and he had no idea why. Here we were, having a great time, and I had just lost it completely.

He stood there, bug-eyed, with no clue what was going on. We’d been having fun, just like always! Once I composed myself well enough to be understood, I spluttered and sniffled that I would never play that stupid Boxing again. I’m still not sure I can articulate exactly what was so upsetting, but I can say I’ve never played that stupid game again.

About Amanda

Amanda is a 20-something flailing gamer. While she loves MMORPGs, the company in them often triggers flare-ups of her social anxiety. Her all-time favorite games include Everquest Online Adventures, Eternal Sonata, the Animal Crossing series, Katamari Damacy, and Rhapsody: A Musical Adventure. She lives on junk food, and her favorite books are equally trashy. She doesn't believe in putting two spaces after a period, but she does strongly believe in the serial comma. Unfortunately, she has a penchant for starting sentences with "and" and "but;" hopefully you won't hold that, or her excessive use of semicolons, against her.

Let me know what you think:

