Star Wars: The Old Republic screenshot courtesy swtor.com

It’s always surprising how quickly things can do a total 180. I’ve been feeling pretty listless lately. I haven’t been able to really find anything to do or play that holds my interest. It almost feels like something is missing. And, of course, it is. TG and I never go this long without an MMO to play.

Yesterday, TG happened across an ad for the Star Wars: The Old Republic pre-order on Amazon. Here’s the thing about me though. I hate space. I am not a sci-fi lover. Don’t worry, I know I’m a terrible geek. Star Wars just totally isn’t my thing.

So, TG looked up at me with these big puppy dog eyes and asked if he could pre-order. I told him of course he could. He even got two copies, just in case I’d play with him. He is so excited about this game. He’s been talking about it quite a bit over the last few weeks, but he had no idea the pre-order would be up already. He’s not exactly a huge Star Wars fan or anything. He just really loves MMOs, especially ones that could have good playability for solo players or small groups.

TG pre-ordered, and we got our early access codes. Then he became crazy excited and started looking up videos and all that good stuff and showing me the things he’s found. That’s when it hit. I was smitten. This game looks so much fun.

It has the polished animated graphic stylings of WoW without the typical swords and sorcery gameplay. While some spells and abilities seem reminiscent of classes in other games, the overall classes don’t sound “been there, done that.” I’m not just making another Priest/Cleric/Druid with slightly different skills. It actually sounds unique.

We’ll be able to partner up with some sort of NPC companions and have our own full group. In every MMO we’ve ever played, we’ve always said, “If we could just find two competent idiots to run DPS consistently for us, we’d be golden — just someone to add a little damage.” It’s like our dream game.

Plus, lightsabers! ‘Nuff said, right?

The game doesn’t launch until the end of December, but we should get to play before that because of our pre-order codes. I am so excited! Here’s hoping LOTRO and The Sims 2 can tide me over until then.

About Amanda

Amanda is a 20-something flailing gamer. While she loves MMORPGs, the company in them often triggers flare-ups of her social anxiety. Her all-time favorite games include Everquest Online Adventures, Eternal Sonata, the Animal Crossing series, Katamari Damacy, and Rhapsody: A Musical Adventure. She lives on junk food, and her favorite books are equally trashy. She doesn't believe in putting two spaces after a period, but she does strongly believe in the serial comma. Unfortunately, she has a penchant for starting sentences with "and" and "but;" hopefully you won't hold that, or her excessive use of semicolons, against her.

Let me know what you think:

