Tetris title card

Have you heard about the Tetris effect, in which after spending a bunch of time doing something, it sort of gets stuck in your brain, and you sort of hallucinate the things you’ve spent time with (e.g., Tetris shapes falling) when your eyes are closed or you’re otherwise not doing that thing? If that ridiculously long sentence didn’t make sense, click the link for the Wikipedia article. They explain it much better than I can.

I’ve dealt with the Tetris effect before. It’s a very strange sensation. I’ve never been a big Tetris fan, so, for me, it’s The Sims 2 effect. If I play too much of The Sims 2, I get trapped in the timing of the game. When I’m not playing I don’t see Sims moving around or interaction bubbles, but I do get the speed interface stuck in my head. I’ve even reached for Pause or “1” to slow the speed down of what was going on in real life. Obviously it’s never effective, but it is worth a good laugh or two when it happens. I play MMOs pretty obsessively too, and I’ve had a few dreams about them. This is especially likely if I play all day long not stopping until just before bed.

TG had a pretty heavy bout of it back in the Diablo II days. He remembers sitting in class looking at a book. Unique-colored words were popping out from the text, and he would actually get excited until he remembered he was in class, and it was just some book. This happened quite a bit during his Diablo II days.

It’s such a strange thing. I’ve never tracked it really, so I’m not sure how frequently I suffer from the Tetris effect. Tell me about your Tetris effect experiences, so TG and I don’t feel so alone.

About Amanda

Amanda is a 20-something flailing gamer. While she loves MMORPGs, the company in them often triggers flare-ups of her social anxiety. Her all-time favorite games include Everquest Online Adventures, Eternal Sonata, the Animal Crossing series, Katamari Damacy, and Rhapsody: A Musical Adventure. She lives on junk food, and her favorite books are equally trashy. She doesn't believe in putting two spaces after a period, but she does strongly believe in the serial comma. Unfortunately, she has a penchant for starting sentences with "and" and "but;" hopefully you won't hold that, or her excessive use of semicolons, against her.

One response »

  1. […] playing a lot of SWTOR. I’m playing so much SWTOR, in fact, that I’ve had a few SWTOR-related dreams. Addiction is hard, […]

Let me know what you think:

