Star Wars: The Tauntaun Republic

It’s practically old news now that the opposing sides in SWTOR won’t be able to talk over general chat with each other. Honestly? Not a big deal to me. In fact, I prefer it that way. What I don’t like, however, is that you can still talk cross-faction in /say.

I’m hoping that it won’t become an issue for us, since we’re not planning on setting up shop on a PvP server. Taunting and teasing really gets to me. I’m a sensitive snowflake, after all. Even the /lick and /moan harassment in WoW really bothered me, and half the time that was from my own teammates before the battleground even started!

So, TG and I got to talking about it, and we came to an interesting conclusion: it might be in our best interest to start out on an RP server in SWTOR.

Our theory is that the general population is probably much more immersed in the game and less excited about chat games like Replace Movie Titles with Murloc or “Did Someone Say [Thunderfury, Blessed Blade of the Windseeker]?” Maybe there will be people around that might even be fun to play with. It’s a bit depressing to join random group after random group with no recognition to our greetings but silence.

Even though we’d originally sworn it off, we’re actually kind of considering grouping and, gasp, potentially even joining a guild. Is it sad that I’m already a little nervous? There’s a little bit of excited wiggling around in there too, though. I think it’s just a matter of finding the right guild. After all, it’s not like I’ve never been in a guild before. I can do this!

But, just in case we’re wrong about how RP servers really are, I think I should start practicing for the Replace Movie Titles with Tauntaun game, so I can be super popular.

So, are we wrong about RP servers? What are they typically like? Love ’em or hate ’em, I’d love to know what you think.

About Amanda

Amanda is a 20-something flailing gamer. While she loves MMORPGs, the company in them often triggers flare-ups of her social anxiety. Her all-time favorite games include Everquest Online Adventures, Eternal Sonata, the Animal Crossing series, Katamari Damacy, and Rhapsody: A Musical Adventure. She lives on junk food, and her favorite books are equally trashy. She doesn't believe in putting two spaces after a period, but she does strongly believe in the serial comma. Unfortunately, she has a penchant for starting sentences with "and" and "but;" hopefully you won't hold that, or her excessive use of semicolons, against her.

Let me know what you think:

