Dear FFXIV

Dear Final Fantasy XIV,

Lately, I’ve been feeling like I owe you another post. My other FFXIV post was honest but vague. The vagueness was honest too though. It’s hard to explain why you dislike something when you’re not really sure why you dislike it. There’s just a lot of awful in you, FFXIV, but you’re working on it.

Yes, you’re working on it. You’ve been working on it for almost a year now. I’ve been keeping up on your updates, just to make sure you don’t post something like, “We’ve fixed everything, and you should play now, because it’s awesome, HNtG!” I’m not desperate to play again or anything. Far from it, actually. It’s more of a morbid curiosity. Your development has been a total train wreck. I just can’t look away.

Now, I’ll be the first to admit I know nothing about game development. But, seriously. Do you need to spend 4-5 patches on targeting? Did I mention that the targeting is still terrible? It’s almost like you don’t realize how much is really wrong with you. You’re behaving as though it’s just a few minor bugs that need ironing out.

Although, in your [much-needed] defense, you need to look like you’re doing something to appease your current fans, which is, I think, why you’re pushing out these frequent mostly-unnecessary patches. You have a ridiculously hard to read chart of goals and dreams that you seem to be slowly chipping away at. Right now, the FFXIV team has even released a detailing of what to expect from the upcoming patch 1.19. It’s expected by the end of September, a year after you released in North America.

FFXIV, I will give you that there are some big changes coming. There are also some meaningless changes in there. You’re still trying to get targeting right? What is wrong with you? You’re kind of making me ragey.

There’s no way you think you’re going to lure in new players this late in the game. With good enough work you could bring back die-hard fans who just couldn’t take it anymore. Maybe.

I think I need to stage an intervention for anyone interested in playing you, FFXIV. Seriously. Your patch notes are somewhat seductive at this point, but anyone looking for a more Eastern style MMO should be looking anywhere but you. You’re buggy, and there’s just no fun left in you. Content is what we’re looking for here, buddy. Not targeting.

I feel like you’re not even trying. Or, maybe you’re just so out of the times for us Western MMO players that we’ve fallen out of touch. Either way, FFXIV, I don’t think we can be friends anymore. I can’t keep following your updates. Let’s just say, if this were Facebook, I’d be blocking you. But, as it is, I’m going to uninstall you and move on.

Best of luck to you and your two fans. I wish you all well.

Respectfully Yours,
HNtG

P.S. You know, you really should do something about that targeting system of yours. It’s just dreadful.

About Amanda

Amanda is a 20-something flailing gamer. While she loves MMORPGs, the company in them often triggers flare-ups of her social anxiety. Her all-time favorite games include Everquest Online Adventures, Eternal Sonata, the Animal Crossing series, Katamari Damacy, and Rhapsody: A Musical Adventure. She lives on junk food, and her favorite books are equally trashy. She doesn't believe in putting two spaces after a period, but she does strongly believe in the serial comma. Unfortunately, she has a penchant for starting sentences with "and" and "but;" hopefully you won't hold that, or her excessive use of semicolons, against her.

Let me know what you think:

