Everquest Online Adventures Frontiers

When I was still in high school, TG went off to college. This wasn’t too long after we found EQOA, so I had ample quality time with my Druid, Laenei, while he was away.

Since EQOA was never the kind of game in which you could solo effectively, I spent a ridiculous amount of time shouting for a group. This was back when I had the ability to be pleasant and social in group settings. I met many random strangers and even added a few to my friends list. Friends would be called in from time to time to fill an empty group slot, and I was frequently called on to help with quests and the like. Fairly standard fare, I’d say.

The only real problem I had with Laenei was her perpetual poorness. Frequently after grouping she had trouble covering the costs of her own repairs. The few quests in the game were always a hardship, since you usually needed to buy something ridiculous for one of the NPCs along the way. As a healer, she couldn’t even really solo to try to earn more money. Laenei was pitiable. Though, I never asked for charity from my in-game friends or even let them know about Laenei’s lack of funds.

Eventually, I grouped with a Necromancer, Illict, who would wind up on my friends list for some reason that I’ve since forgotten. As I said, standard fare. Every now and then, I would invite Illict to fill a damage slot in a group, and he — I’m going by the character’s gender here — would be more thankful than the typical groupmate for the opportunity. I always thought it was a little strange, but, hey, I like politeness, and it made me want to invite him along more often.

Quite a few levels down the road, I got a /tell from Illict asking me to meet him somewhere in the city we both happened to be in. He then proceeded to trade me a very large chunk of Tunar (EQOA’s currency), which was a fortune to Laenei — at least 10 times what she had had at her wealthiest. Then he told me that he had to go; the cops were there, and he was being arrested. I was dumbfounded. He was offline before I even had a chance to process the situation and respond.

I never saw Illict online again, but I never forgot that kindness, which funded Laenei’s adventures from then on. I have always wondered, though, whether the cops really were there, or if it was just nicer than saying “I don’t like you. Go away.”

So, I’m dying to know: What’s the weirdest or best way you’ve made in-game money?

About Amanda

Amanda is a 20-something flailing gamer. While she loves MMORPGs, the company in them often triggers flare-ups of her social anxiety. Her all-time favorite games include Everquest Online Adventures, Eternal Sonata, the Animal Crossing series, Katamari Damacy, and Rhapsody: A Musical Adventure. She lives on junk food, and her favorite books are equally trashy. She doesn't believe in putting two spaces after a period, but she does strongly believe in the serial comma. Unfortunately, she has a penchant for starting sentences with "and" and "but;" hopefully you won't hold that, or her excessive use of semicolons, against her.

One response »

  1. […] and Laenei became a better healer. There were flubs and goofs from time to time, of course, and I’ve mentioned before how poor she was. She was so fun to play though because the game was a blast, and the people were […]

Let me know what you think:

