Bounty Hunter bang

I’ve never been much of a Star Wars fan. Sure I love action and fighting scenes in movies, so the lightsaber and blaster battles are pretty cool, but space has never really been my thing. I had never even watched Return of the Jedi until last month. We owned the original trilogy; I just never got around to watching it. It also took me until August to finally see more than just Episode I of the prequel trilogy.

But now a game is coming out that I’m super excited about, and I’m attempting to soak up as much Star Wars atmosphere as I can. I’m not one to need to research. I’m not interested in trying to learn timelines or gaining an understanding of the lore of different species, but I do want to feed the excitement that I have.

I feel like I have this unconscious pull — this need — to loop the Star Wars movies in the background while I read my favorite SWTOR news sites. Last night I even finished reading my first Star Wars book, and now I’m hooked. Fortunately, I started with a trilogy, so there’s two more installments of just this series to devour. Maybe after that I’ll jump back to books set in the Old Republic era.

What is it about video games that gets us so excited? I know that some people have been waiting for their Old Republic MMO for longer than I can imagine — back before they even realized what an MMO could be someday. Is it the interactiveness or the immersion of a video game that entices us? Maybe it’s just the hype itself that gets us so excited.

Sometimes I feel a little guilty about being such a Star Wars newbie, like I don’t deserve to be as excited as some of you or something. But for this game to be successful and thrive, a large, passionate community is ideal. So, you long time Star Wars fanatics out there, I hope you’ll choose to take me in as your Padawan and mentor me in all things Star Wars, especially with regard to book recommendations or plans to DIY my own blaster and Bounty Hunter suit.

How are you feeding your excitement?

About Amanda

Amanda is a 20-something flailing gamer. While she loves MMORPGs, the company in them often triggers flare-ups of her social anxiety. Her all-time favorite games include Everquest Online Adventures, Eternal Sonata, the Animal Crossing series, Katamari Damacy, and Rhapsody: A Musical Adventure. She lives on junk food, and her favorite books are equally trashy. She doesn't believe in putting two spaces after a period, but she does strongly believe in the serial comma. Unfortunately, she has a penchant for starting sentences with "and" and "but;" hopefully you won't hold that, or her excessive use of semicolons, against her.

Let me know what you think:

