Dinosaurs are awesome. Everyone knows that.

I really don’t like the casual versus hardcore argument. It’s been done to death, so why do people still fight about it?

I’ve mentioned before that I suck at FPS games. I haven’t racked up a massive Gamerscore. I haven’t downed the Lich King in a Heroic 25-man. Actually, I haven’t even downed the Lich King, if we’re being truthful. My games collection reads more “12-year-old girl” than “hardcore gamer.” And, my Neopets need desperately for me to feed them since I haven’t logged in for a long, long time, which I kind of feel guilty about.

Do these things make me a casual gamer? I think having Carnival Games on my shelf might automatically make me one, but if it helps my case, I only played it that one time. What if I told you that, besides Carnival Games, I generally invest something like eight or more hours a day to my casual-centric games/playstyle? I play obsessively; I’m not a casual based on amount of time invested, that’s for sure. Am I some sort of strange hybrid? A casucore?

Regardless of how you define casual, the real question is about whether you look down on someone for your label. In the end, they’re just games. Sometimes I throw on my Casual Hat with pride and other times I’m smoking your twink in Warsong (at least trying to). You might judge me for the movies I watch or the games I play, but it’s not going to change or stop me. It just makes you look like a d-bag.

About Amanda

Amanda is a 20-something flailing gamer. While she loves MMORPGs, the company in them often triggers flare-ups of her social anxiety. Her all-time favorite games include Everquest Online Adventures, Eternal Sonata, the Animal Crossing series, Katamari Damacy, and Rhapsody: A Musical Adventure. She lives on junk food, and her favorite books are equally trashy. She doesn't believe in putting two spaces after a period, but she does strongly believe in the serial comma. Unfortunately, she has a penchant for starting sentences with "and" and "but;" hopefully you won't hold that, or her excessive use of semicolons, against her.

Let me know what you think:

