You know you want to buy these things.

I’m starting to get a little overwhelmed. It’s December. December 7th even. Once the 13th arrives, I’ll hopefully be sucked into SWTOR (assuming I preordered soon enough). Does that really mean I only have five days left to deal with Christmas cards, present shopping and wrapping, and decorating?

Somehow Christmas always sneaks up on me. One minute, it’s September, and I’m eating birthday cake, and suddenly everyone has twinkling lights on their houses. It’s like I sleepwalk through Halloween and Thanksgiving or something.

I should have realized though; I should have clued in when my mom was asking what game console my step-father would like. I was so preoccupied by not knowing what would be appropriate for him that I didn’t even think about the fact that it was an early Christmas gift.

It’s not like I have hundreds of people to shop for or thousands of cards to get out the door. We mostly just shop for our parents and TG’s brother. It’s not the big anxiety-inducing situation I’m making it out to be.

But, just in case you’re suffering from unneeded Christmas-related anxieties that are ruining your SWTORmas season, I’ve got a list of unique present ideas to get you pointed in the right direction. So, stop running in frantic circles, pour yourself a cup of cocoa, and do some deep breathing while you check out the best gift ideas for the 2011 holiday season.

Holiday Gift Idea Agloves Capacitive Touch Screen GlovesAgloves Capacitive Touch Screen Gloves
$24.99 from ThinkGeek

My hands are cold. No, really. They are. And, it would be nice to be wearing gloves. More than that, it would be nice to still be able to use my phone and my iPad with those gloves on. If you know anyone with cold hands, this is the gift to give them. Unless you don’t like communicating with them, I suppose. Maybe if you’re feeling antisocial you should get them something else, but they’d probably hate you for it.

Holiday Gift Idea Jet-Puffed MarshmallowsJet-Puffed Marshmallows
Like $2 at the grocery store. Seriously.

So, I was originally looking at all the fantastic marshmallow shooters available because who doesn’t need a marshmallow shooter? Well, then I got distracted by the bag of marshmallows on the screen under the Frequently Bought With section, and I realized what a better gift marshmallows would be. You could eat them or throw them at people. You could even stick toothpicks in them and eat them fancily. Now that’s a gift.

Holiday Gift Idea Keurig EliteKeurig Elite Brewer
$119.95 from Keurig.com

I got one of these for TG for his last birthday. I don’t drink coffee or tea, so I have no clue how decent it is for those things; It does make amazing water for my hot chocolate powder though. I will tell you, however, that this thing is ridiculously loved by everyone else who tries it. If you know anyone who has had to cut back on their Starbucks fix or hates having to brew a whole pot of coffee only to drink a cup or two, they need this brewer. You can even get an Ekobrew or My K-Cup and brew coffee from your favorite ground beans.

Holiday Gift Idea Mini Donut FactoryMini Donut Factory
$19.99 from ThinkGeek

Honestly, I could probably just stick a link in this post directly to ThinkGeek, and you could find tons of things for most of the people on your gift list. This Mini Donut Factory though is a must-have for every home in the country. What country, you ask? Any country! Everyone knows that the best resolution is to increase your daily donut intake. I really don’t know why you’re asking if I’m just hungry. This thing looks awesome. Anyone else want to get tacos?

Holiday Gift Idea Ful Sling PowerbagPowerbag Sling Backpack by Ful
$109.68 from QVC

You know when you’re at school, and your 3DS dies, and all the kids are laughing at you because you can’t play Mario Kart 7? Yeah, me neither. But that horrendous situation could forever be avoided by the Powerbag. Available in backpacks, messenger bags, and even briefcases, these things come with flux capacitors or something and can charge all the things! Okay, so I not-so-secretly really want one of these. I don’t have anywhere to take it to, but at least I could sit on the couch and charge things without having to sit close to an outlet. Right?

Holiday Gift Ideas Syma HelicopterSyma Helicopter
$20-$30 on Amazon, depending on model.

Everyone needs one of these. Okay, so maybe a toy helicopter isn’t a need in the traditional sense, but it is a need. And, really, if you’re looking at this list for inspiration, you obviously aren’t shopping for practical presents. You could buy someone slippers or socks. You could buy someone a new iPod or a puppy. But those things are boring or hard to wrap. Some of them even need housetraining. So, just give your giftee a helicopter and get yourself one too. You’ll thank me later.

About Amanda

Amanda is a 20-something flailing gamer. While she loves MMORPGs, the company in them often triggers flare-ups of her social anxiety. Her all-time favorite games include Everquest Online Adventures, Eternal Sonata, the Animal Crossing series, Katamari Damacy, and Rhapsody: A Musical Adventure. She lives on junk food, and her favorite books are equally trashy. She doesn't believe in putting two spaces after a period, but she does strongly believe in the serial comma. Unfortunately, she has a penchant for starting sentences with "and" and "but;" hopefully you won't hold that, or her excessive use of semicolons, against her.

Let me know what you think:

