SWTOR is down

The game that everyone is talking about is down. Yes, that means that SWTOR officially launches tonight. Early access is over, and to be totally honest, that doesn’t change much for me. Early Access kind of diminishes the launch, especially when you consider that my Scoundrel finished Chapter One 15 minutes before the servers went down.

TG need to finish up Chapter One for his Trooper and then we’re off on a whole new adventure, I assume. That’s what has made this game so fun for us. We have avoided spoilers as best we can. I worried that we did too much in beta and that we’d have nothing left to explore.

That has proven nothing but untrue. We were able to get in on day one, spacebar through the content we had already done several times on Ord Mantell and Coruscant, and enjoy the content without crowds of people milling about from Taris on.

It’s quickly becoming apparent that this will be another game that we’ll be able to reach max level on, and we’re very excited about getting there. We aren’t waiting for anything at 50 in particular. We’re just excited to be moving along and not starting over yet.

We do have a pair specifically made for grouping with our friends, the delightful Mr. and Mrs. Goon, who are splitting their time between the Empire and the Republic. TG and I have saved dungeon content to experience with them, and we’re very excited about seeing the dungeons we haven’t yet seen.

But, as we’ve been busily buzzing through the planets of SWTOR, we’ve been happily trudging through our storyline. As I said, we’re both just about wrapped up with Chapter One, and it’s been just stellar.

We both prefer my Smuggler’s story to the Trooper’s though. However, ever since I thought I was getting a second companion, I have been excitedly waiting for the fourth companion I finally got. It was such a tease. The strange thing though is that since TG got his second companion, it seemed as though he always had one more companion than I had, which has made crafting a bit easier for him.

We were also disappointed with the type of pets I’ve had up until today. Now that I finally have a pet that better compliments our group makeup, I think our combat pace will skyrocket.

Can you tell I’m trying to be excessively vague to avoid spoilers?

Well, spoilers or not, I’ve definitely invested a ridiculous amount of time into my Smuggler, and I’m still thrilled by the class. The Sawbones healer really seemed to bloom into a healer in the late 20s. The abilities toolkit and skill tree really create a successful and solid healer, and I love the energy resource.

There’s a real balance you have to work to find in order to keep your energy level high enough for the quicker regeneration while healing enough to keep your group from faceplanting. The Smuggler also gets some interesting abilities that help with energy regeneration. I was pretty skeptical of Diagnostic Scan crits awarding two energy being helpful before I played the Smuggler, but I love that talent now, having tried it.

I can’t wait to see the planets we haven’t yet experienced and jump into our new adventures. I know I sound like a rabid fangirl over this game, but it’s amazingly fun, and I just can’t get enough.

About Amanda

Amanda is a 20-something flailing gamer. While she loves MMORPGs, the company in them often triggers flare-ups of her social anxiety. Her all-time favorite games include Everquest Online Adventures, Eternal Sonata, the Animal Crossing series, Katamari Damacy, and Rhapsody: A Musical Adventure. She lives on junk food, and her favorite books are equally trashy. She doesn't believe in putting two spaces after a period, but she does strongly believe in the serial comma. Unfortunately, she has a penchant for starting sentences with "and" and "but;" hopefully you won't hold that, or her excessive use of semicolons, against her.

Let me know what you think:

