The Incredibles

Some recessed corner of my brain is nagging at me. That responsibility sector — who knew I even had one of those anyway? — that’s telling me I’ve been slacking here. And, I have. And, I’ve admitted that before.

But the cold, hard truth of it is that I watched The Incredibles last night. And the second and third X-Men movies. I’m feeling flighty and all responsibility’d out. Were I some sort of mutant or superhero, I’m pretty sure my superpower would be the ability to avoid responsibility at all costs. It would be completely passive and useless, but, hey, that sort of fits too. Or, maybe I’d have Coke Fingers, able to spray cola from my fingers at will.

But, anyway, I guess I’ll try to write something worth reading.

I’m not a story girl. I’m the kind of girl who starts button mashing the controller when a cutscene pops up. I am incensed by cutscenes you can’t skip, especially when I’ve been forced to sit through them before. I’m sure that doesn’t exactly make me BioWare’s target SWTOR audience. I will say, however, that I was completely taken by my Smuggler’s story. Of course, after Chapter 1 ended, I completely lost focus and have no idea what was going on from then on.

I had one single-minded goal to complete. BioWare pulled me in so hard that I — the actual me playing the game, I mean — was fixated on this nemesis. And, once that story arc was all wrapped up, I just didn’t care anymore. There was some new bad guy. Or maybe there was some sort of missile crisis. Or I needed to become headmistress of a school for mutants. I have no idea.

But, it didn’t matter to me that I didn’t care. I was mystified that I’d cared as much as I had to that point. And, despite so many people whining about the responsiveness of the combat, I really enjoy the way this game plays. It doesn’t matter what everybody else thinks because I have a blast running around questing with TG. I enjoy the crafting system, even if we were disappointed by how quickly boss drop crafting materials were needed. Even though I spent the last 25 levels of the game ignoring the quests waiting for the next thing I got to kill, I’m so glad I have this new game to call my own.

Here’s the thing though: you don’t have to like it. You don’t have to play SWTOR. Yeah, it sucks that you spent however much money on your copy of the game, but if you don’t like it, you don’t have to play it. It’s that simple. I see so much whining on the forums and blogs that I follow about graphics issues, lack of content, or just whatever, that it makes me sad for those writers.

If you’re not happy, why are you still logging in? Maybe it’s not about playing that Next Big Thing. There are tons of games out there. Find the one that’s right for you.

That said, if you’re loving SWTOR as much as I am, awesome! There are tons of games that weren’t right for me, but TG and I have found our home in SWTOR. We might not be venturing into the Eternity Vault in the foreseeable future, and it’s hard to say how much dungeon content we’ll even get to see, but we’re really looking forward to seeing more people hit 50. Once our server has a more established PvP backbone, it’s going to be amazing.

But, if I ever start to get frustrated or dislike it, I hope I’ll have the sense to stop playing and take a break. In the end, they’re just games, right?

About Amanda

Amanda is a 20-something flailing gamer. While she loves MMORPGs, the company in them often triggers flare-ups of her social anxiety. Her all-time favorite games include Everquest Online Adventures, Eternal Sonata, the Animal Crossing series, Katamari Damacy, and Rhapsody: A Musical Adventure. She lives on junk food, and her favorite books are equally trashy. She doesn't believe in putting two spaces after a period, but she does strongly believe in the serial comma. Unfortunately, she has a penchant for starting sentences with "and" and "but;" hopefully you won't hold that, or her excessive use of semicolons, against her.

Let me know what you think:

