I make bad decisions. I can’t extrapolate data. If we’re being really honest, I’m not sure if I really know what extrapolating is. I don’t have the capacity to anticipate how a game will do or even if I’ll find it enjoyable. But, that’s why this blog is How Not to Game. I’m always going to do the wrong thing the first time.

And sometimes that fact breaks my heart. I was stoked about SWTOR. Even after trying it in the beta, I was loving it. And, I loved my healing Scoundrel, Zayn. We didn’t exactly take a leisurely stroll to 50, but we did take the time to enjoy the storyline and quests. We didn’t even really PvP until 50, but we still had fun leveling. Mostly.

After the first chapter of the Smuggler story, I was bored of it. But, I loved the Smuggler so much that I stuck it out, and I’m glad I did because PvP turned out to be a blast. We spent time wandering around in Ilum turning objectives, hoping to find a Red Name to beat up on. That was kind of fun. I guess.

I can pinpoint the exact day that SWTOR felt like it really failed me: January 18, 2012. The day they implemented Patch 1.1. The day they mortally wounded PvP on my server.

Once 50s were put into their own bracket, PvP games stopped popping within a reasonable amount of time, at least in our opinion. Our server just doesn’t have the Republic PvP population to support itself, as I’ve mentioned before. Suddenly, we were unable to complete the Warzone and Ilum Dailies and Weeklies that we loved doing. Honestly? We almost quit that day. There’s not a whole lot tying us to this game beyond PvP and some real life friends.

But we were so desperate to stay with SWTOR, that we even broke down and tried something ridiculously desperate. We suited up for a dungeon. We thought that maybe, just maybe, we could try running dungeons together with Risha and Aric Jorgan. So we went into District 7 and sleepwalked through it. Even had we not been heinously overgeared for it, I don’t think we would have found it the least bit fun.

So I made some level 1s on a few servers with slightly-higher populations. Ours is already pretty high to begin with; I just don’t think we have a huge PvP population, at least not on the Republic side. The PvE server had a few more games than we did when I /who’d. The PvP server had tons of games on Empire side, but was again a few more than ours Republic-side.

But, did we want to abandon our characters and real life friends in favor of some hope of more PvP? We really didn’t. So, we made alts. And we’ve made alt after alt, unable to find a combination of characters that makes us happy. Right now we’re trying out a pair of dps-oriented alts. It’s going alright, but more than anything we’re both sick of leveling. TG’s legacy level is 19 now. I can’t even fathom how he’s still leveling all these classes through all the same quests over and over and over and over.

Unfortunately, TG wishes his Vanguard was a Commando, and sometimes I wish I had a Sage, so our only 50s are classes we’re not really happy with. I’d just like to PvP without standing around waiting for games to pop for longer than we actually PvP’d for. And, yes, during prime time that is the case, but we play through prime time into the late night hours, and sometimes even into the early morning hours.

And, okay, I’m going to get really honest here. I don’t even think I like the SWTOR warzones. The Alderaan turrets inhibit line of site which frustrates me when healing. Huttball is fine for classes with utility, unlike Zayn, but it really highlights the mirrored ability timing differences (e.g., Project, Cryo Grenade, and Sabotage Charge all take travel time before they damage their target, unlike the Empire counterpart abilities). And, The Voidstar just makes me want to stab myself in the face; I groan every time its load screen pops up.

Which brings me to this post on the forums, which concisely asks the question I’m asking myself:
If you are 50 and a PvPer, why are you still here?

Well, the game billed me. Only 30 days, so not a huge deal, but I guess that’s the real reason I’m still here.

I was totally wrong about the things I thought would be best for PvP. I way prefer some form of Diminishing Returns to the Resolve Bar of Doom, which I never thought I’d say. Huttball also failed me, being that it just gives fewer games to the less populated side since the other side is so busy playing Huttball.

I even stopped playing for a few days while I waited for one of TG’s new alts to catch up to one of my alts and didn’t miss the game. Moments of joy and fun are fleeting, stomped upon by the four 40-49 Siths that seem to be in every game on the Empire side to combat our under-30s that queue. We can overcome those odds, and they do seem to have under-30s queuing, but why don’t we have that many 40-somethings queuing on our side? Is it because of the mirrored ability problems I mentioned earlier?

I’m thinking that SWTOR just isn’t the game for me, and that’s okay. Sometimes you just don’t like something, right? I just wish I’d anticipated that rather than having to find out the hard way. Maybe I’m just in a funk, and I’d still like SWTOR if I gave it more of a chance. Well, I’m not quitting just yet. Maybe with the right pair of characters, TG and I can make it fun again.

But, then again, maybe we’ll find out that putting so much lipstick on this pig of a game wasn’t BioWare’s best idea.

About Amanda

Amanda is a 20-something flailing gamer. While she loves MMORPGs, the company in them often triggers flare-ups of her social anxiety. Her all-time favorite games include Everquest Online Adventures, Eternal Sonata, the Animal Crossing series, Katamari Damacy, and Rhapsody: A Musical Adventure. She lives on junk food, and her favorite books are equally trashy. She doesn't believe in putting two spaces after a period, but she does strongly believe in the serial comma. Unfortunately, she has a penchant for starting sentences with "and" and "but;" hopefully you won't hold that, or her excessive use of semicolons, against her.

2 responses »

  1. SWTOR says:

    SWTOR is a really good game but i sitill think it could have been so much better ! ,

    some parts of it just look rushed to me when they could have done so much more with things such as the space combat . missed a trick there !

  2. theHaterGater says:

    The voice acting is really good. The animation is decent. Game optimization feels mediocre. Questing is blah and very grindy. Areas have a very closed feel to them – like you’re always being led around by the nose. Space combat on rails is all kinds of terrible. Love the companion system. Crafting is ‘just ok’.

Let me know what you think:

