SWTOR made me a lot of promises. Admittedly, I might have read too much in to some of those promises, but I’m definitely feeling like SWTOR didn’t uphold much of its side of the bargain.

But what games do? These game companies make grandiose promises that they eventually can’t stand by (siege vehicles promised on the cover of vanilla WoW, for example), and we’re just expected to smile and accept the letdowns.

When these shortcomings get brought up, there are countless fans at the ready to champion their game. After all, everyone knows that an MMO needs six months after launch before it’s ready, before it’s fair to cast criticisms.

And, anyone who dislikes a new title is just doing it wrong, obviously. You either rushed to max level, or you’re trying to solo in a multiplayer game, or maybe your character is just too tall. Either way, it’s obviously your fault, not the game’s.

So, I am obviously at fault for being unhappy with SWTOR. And, you know what? I find that ridiculous. If its possible to rush to 50 and wind up bored, isn’t that a fault of the game? If server populations are so lacking that I can’t get a warzone match to go in a reasonable amount of time outside of prime time, isn’t that a sign that maybe something is wrong?

But, okay, maybe I am being too critical, or my expectations are ridiculously high. But I just wasn’t anticipating not being a casual enough player for this game. I’m really not into leveling alts for the rest of eternity, and it looks like that’s the majority of this game (which, I admit, I should have realized since that’s what everyone kept saying).

I knew I wasn’t going to raid. I knew I wasn’t going to do dungeons after trying out a few in the beta. I thought I would enjoy PvP, but Ilum turned out to be a complete snore, and I can’t believe how grating the warzones have become. So, of course, that leaves leveling new characters. In a story-based MMO, that should be a total blast. But, unfortunately, BioWare copped out and forces everyone to do the same side missions alongside the unique class story quests.

And, while we’re at it, if they’re so adamant about Advanced Classes being completely separate classes, why do they share the same story? Why is TG’s Commando playing the exact same game that his Vanguard did? I used to be a big time proponent of disallowing the switch between Advanced Classes, but after seeing what I’ve seen, I’d be fine with one or two switches, so you could see what you were missing out on. How are you supposed to understand the inner-workings of your class choice at level 10? You’d never know you made a mistake until far enough along that re-rolling would be painful.

Is there some reason that each class couldn’t have completely unique content? They invested so much into this game with the voice acting, and it seems like such a waste. You could still funnel players along the same planets and areas so they could group or work together, but it wouldn’t have to be so redundant to roll a new alt. And, seriously, BioWare? You stuck all of the lowbie dungeons on the Fleets? I get the convenience of them being there, but how are lowbies supposed to get a group? Wouldn’t it have made more sense to have entrances to them out in the planets? “Oh, look, I’ve mostly wrapped up Tatooine, now all I have are these optional dungeon quests for Awesome Dungeon of Tatooine-ness. Cool! And, look, people are shouting out here in Tatooine that they’re looking for one more. How perfect is that?”

Yup.

I hate my Scoundrel. But only because she’s 50. If she were playable, it might be different. I just don’t want to stand around all night hoping for a warzone to pop.

I’m not sure what could fix SWTOR for me at this point. I fear that populations on our server might get even lower with the news of character transfers soon-to-be-available for Asia-Pacific markets, and I’ve already expressed my fears over the Ranked Warzone implementation.

And, their customer service sure isn’t helping things.

My collector’s edition didn’t even come with a security key.

I’m just mad. I really don’t think I should be paying $15 a month for a game I have grown to hate ($30 if you count TG’s subscription). That’s why we quit WoW all those times really. And, honestly, we both agree that we’d rather be playing battlegrounds in WoW than standing around the Fleet hoping for a SWTOR warzone. They’re more or less the same anyway, right? At least I enjoy more of the WoW battlegrounds.

Pfft.

Look at that.

I’m actually justifying playing WoW again.

That’s just sick.

About Amanda

Amanda is a 20-something flailing gamer. While she loves MMORPGs, the company in them often triggers flare-ups of her social anxiety. Her all-time favorite games include Everquest Online Adventures, Eternal Sonata, the Animal Crossing series, Katamari Damacy, and Rhapsody: A Musical Adventure. She lives on junk food, and her favorite books are equally trashy. She doesn't believe in putting two spaces after a period, but she does strongly believe in the serial comma. Unfortunately, she has a penchant for starting sentences with "and" and "but;" hopefully you won't hold that, or her excessive use of semicolons, against her.

11 responses »

  1. Goon says:

    Mrs Goon and I loved the game, until the day we turned 50. PvP went from being fun and challenging to non-stop slaughter. I wont say I’m a great player, I’d like to think we’re good, but when we lose 30 matches in a row.. it gets to you. We won 1.5 matches after playing all of yesterday. I say 1.5 because while we did win the 2nd match, the game crashed for me so I didn’t get any credit.
    I still really enjoy the game, but I feel like I’d have more fun just making new characters and leveling again. This is different from any other mmo we’ve tried where the leveling process was just a grind until the end. There are great stories and lots of fun to be had along the way.

    • HNtG says:

      I’m not sure why the system is so broken. You can’t even celebrate your few wins when you’re not getting credit for them, and if you’re losing so much, you’re losing out on gear from the daily quest rewards. It’s a system that gives the winners even more gear, further lop-siding things. Very strange.

      I’m really sad to hear that you guys were disappointed by the 50 bracket though, especially with how excited you both were. Have you guys considered PvE at 50 at all? You never know, you might like it!

  2. vaalix says:

    This game is just garbage. Swg had so much depth compared to this crap.. It only lacked quests and raids.. But i would take sony and pre cu in an updated graphics engine over swtor any day.

    I actually cant wait till they announce server merges for this game. To me that will be admittance to failure and i want this garbage to fail hard. Bioware.. Stick to single player games because you have no business making mmos. And bioware your forum mods cant suck me..stupid bitches..

    • HNtG says:

      It’s so disappointing that a game that so many people loved had to be sacrificed for such a piece of garbage. My husband even picked up SWG toward the end of its life and was enjoying what was left of it. SWTOR was just a grab at the financial-prospects of the WoW-style MMO crowd and a pathetic grab, at that.

  3. Mcmuffin says:

    Couple of months after this article was written and it’s evident that this game is goin nowhere, fast. Populations are low across all servers and Bioware’s 1.2 patch that was supposed to save this game didn’t change much at all as far as subscription counts go.

    This game is going to go the way of WAR and Age of Conan, but the process will be slower and more painful because of the ridiculous amount of money that was, let’s be real here, wasted on this game.

    • HNtG says:

      It’s really too bad that they couldn’t better manage their development funds. There were so many features (and awful issues like engine-related problems) that needed to be in at launch. The whole game was such a disappointment. I keep getting emails from them begging me to come back, and it just reeks of desperation. It’s kind of off-putting really.

  4. […] If you make posts entitled How Ranked Warzones Could Kill SWTOR’s Already Dying Casual PvP and Why SWTOR Is Pretty Much Dead to Me, you’re going to get those kinds of search hits. But, the fact remains, people are searching […]

  5. br3ntbr0 says:

    I’m a little late to the party in responding to this (as I only found your blog today) but I have to say I feel the same way. If you don’t raid or love to re-roll new alts, there is little to keep you satisfied in SWTOR.

    I will say that things could change as it matures and adds cross realm functions. Low pop servers like the one I was on would benefit greatly from cross realm warzones, flashpoints, and even operations.

    It’s a problem that all multiple realm games have. The only way to solve it is to engineer things so that you only have one realm/shard to choose, or you have tools to connect the instanced content, like I mentioned above.

  6. Ganon101 says:

    Game is dead, it’s also decomposing.

  7. Anonymous says:

    log’d into swtor tonight (10/6/12) prime time and there was 5 ppl on :/ game is dead for sure, just for fun I queued for a pvp match and it didnt pop after 2 hours of me just standing there :/ , cross realm pvp might have sorted this out but I fear its too late even if that kind of system went live today.

    • Amanda says:

      It’s been months since I’ve played SWTOR, and it’s sad to hear that PvP is still floundering. And, worse than it was back then, no less! I hope the devs can pull things through for those still enjoying the game, but it seems like a slippery, uphill battle at this point.

Let me know what you think:

