Castanic Lancer with Kingsguard Prestige Weapon Skin

EME launched a cash shop for Tera yesterday, and we were delighted with their offerings!

We originally started Tera with a Warrior/Priest pair of Humans. Around the mid-30s, Trav decided to give up the Warrior in favor of starting over with a Castanic Lancer. I made a Castanic Sorcerer to level up with him, but eventually we mixed the pairs, deciding that the Lancer/Priest combo would give us the best success for our first go of it.

I was disappointed by the Human after playing the Castanic cloth-wearer, but I was resigned to my fate. I really didn’t want to do the first 35 levels again just over a race choice. I was ready to see new content, by golly! So, when they announced the availability of race changes yesterday, I was ecstatic.

Of course, we had to spend most of the day in the car because real life reared its ugly head, but once we got home Trav ordered me up a race change voucher.

You retrieve an item from the Item Claim menu that grants a single character a race change. This is a one-time use object. Interestingly, it seemed I could collect it on one character and stick it in the shared bank for a different character to snag. Regardless, I claimed that puppy on Caelynn and right-clicked it with an excited fervor.

I expected that I’d be told that I could make my race change the next time I logged in. I was totally wrong though. Suddenly a message popped up saying that I was being transported to the character creation screen. Wowy zowy. I picked my race and gender, and went through all the customization options to complete Caelynn’s makeover.

Castanic Priest

I am still so tickled about how great she looks. I know I’ll be a lot happier with the Castanic’s lingerie-inspired gear than the jumpsuits the Human seemed to favor.

Tera Race Change voucher before and after

As you can see, it was a pretty extensive (and successful) overhaul.

And, most importantly, it was so easy. I wasn’t even booted out of the game when I was done customizing her. It just took me right back to where she’d been standing in town.

Thankfully we have pretty limited disposable income or, oh my word would we be throwing all of our cash at Tera. Probably.

We did have one small hiccup with the process though. After logging out of my account and logging into his account on the same computer, Trav ordered one of the new Prestige Weapon Skins for his Lancer — the Kingsguard. This is a one-time use item for one character. It grants that character the ability to customize any of his or her weapons to the new look. This one grants a Lancer a sword and shield instead of a Lance and shield. Pretty neat!

Trav waited a few minutes, periodically checking his Item Claim on the Lancer in question, Nidalle. When nothing showed up, he got a little worried. My Priest’s race change voucher arrived very quickly.

Nervously, I checked my Item Claim.

Prestige Weapon Skin Kingsguard in Item Claim

And there was the Kingsguard.

Fudge.

So I hopped into Tera’s Support Chat queue. I was 38th in line. Strangely my number seemed to go up once or twice (Like when I was number 1 in queue and suddenly jumped to number 2), but ultimately I was screen to screen with the lovely GM Taki.

And he was a delight!

I explained my problem.

He asked for a few follow-up details, like the husband’s account email address, so he could remedy the problem.

And suddenly he said “Alright, done!”

And Trav checked his character and had that Kingsguard equipped before I could realize that we were helped so quickly and easily.

I didn’t need to argue my case or worry about presenting screenshots.

I know this sounds a little fangirly, but, honestly, I’m kind of feeling fangirly.

It was a phenomenal experience. I love good customer support nearly as much as I love free shipping from online retailers.

Besides, doesn’t Nidalle look fierce now?

How could you accuse me of just posting another glamor shot of Caelynn?! That totally was not my intention. She is gorg though, isn’t she? [happy sigh]

About Amanda

Amanda is a 20-something flailing gamer. While she loves MMORPGs, the company in them often triggers flare-ups of her social anxiety. Her all-time favorite games include Everquest Online Adventures, Eternal Sonata, the Animal Crossing series, Katamari Damacy, and Rhapsody: A Musical Adventure. She lives on junk food, and her favorite books are equally trashy. She doesn't believe in putting two spaces after a period, but she does strongly believe in the serial comma. Unfortunately, she has a penchant for starting sentences with "and" and "but;" hopefully you won't hold that, or her excessive use of semicolons, against her.

2 responses »

  1. Rahmus says:

    Haha, loving your blog. So fun. It’s also awesome that you have a partner who will game with you. So jealous. Anyway, good stuff! And the kingsguard looks AMAZING.

    • Amanda says:

      Yeah, it’s definitely nice having a built-in playmate. I know that gives us a boost in replay value and fun for the games we play.

      Thank you! We were a little wary about the Kingsguard before getting it. You know, would the thrusting/piercing attack animation look decent with a slashing style weapon? But, in the end we’re so happy with it! It really looks sleek.

      And your gravatar is just adorable. Such a sweet picture. :)

Let me know what you think:

