Okay, so I’ve never been the most competent gamer. This is How Not to Game, after all. It’s not like I’m over here collecting my MLG Super Gamer paycheck or, heck, even any paycheck if we’re being really honest. But I’m really enjoying flailing my way through Tera.

Before we tried Tera we were really worried for me. There was no way I’d ever be able to play because of stupid, old WASD movement. “The W and the S are misaligned!” I’d wail. In other games I mostly moved using autorun and the arrow keys, Q and E, mouse turning, or some combination thereof, depending on what I needed to be pressing with the other hand at any given time.

It was just as unglamorous as it was awkward, but it worked for me.

But I gave Tera a try and, well, I was right. There’s no way I could ever move with WASD. But let me throw down with QWES and I’m game. I attribute this ability mostly to QE autorun strafing/running in WoW.

Which leads me to my next in-game Tera dilemma: chained skills.

For those of you who aren’t familiar, Tera has the awesome ability to set up combos that are triggered when certain abilities are used. It lets you hit Spacebar, or whatever you’ve bound to trigger the chain, to initiate the next skill in the chain. It’s kind of like a cast-sequence macro in WoW, but you pump Spacebar instead of your macro button. For a better explanation, Tera’s got a nifty little page that explains Chained Skills and how to customize them.

Anyway, my big problem with chained skills is that nasty Spacebar. To me, Spacebar is jump. Period. End of Story. Do not pass Go and all that Monopoly nonsense.

I’m just not the kind of girl that can hit 4 and then remember to hit Spacebar to work through my brilliantly-set-up chain. So, re-bind it, you tell me.

Well, I’d be happy to, but I’m not going to hit any new button either. I’m stubborn that way.

I will admit that I love chained skills for my Priest’s five buffs that I need to cast every 20 minutes. I hit one and then pump Spacebar until we’re all buffed up. In that respect, it saves a ton of bar space. But in the middle of combat, I’m just not going to remember the chain until I’ve already triggered another ability. Then it’s all too late.

But, your rotation would be tighter, and your HPS, TPS, DPS, ABCs, 123s, and whatevers would be higher, you’re telling me.

Probably you’re right. Probably I could be extra unstoppable with a few perfectly timed chains. But that’s not happening any time soon. My Priestly experience is coming through the way of duoing with a Lancer. I’m not spending any time soloing. I don’t need swiftly executed combo attacks alongside elegantly-timed jumpbacks to save my hide as I neatly put down my enemies.

For crying out loud, I can’t remember the last time I did anything neatly at all. The last thing I’m going to do is worry about some silly little detail like that.

So, if you see a Priest narrowly avoiding being clobbered after screwing up her rotation, that’s probably me. Do be kind; with the way I’m mangling WASD, I’m practically running upside down after all.

About Amanda

Amanda is a 20-something flailing gamer. While she loves MMORPGs, the company in them often triggers flare-ups of her social anxiety. Her all-time favorite games include Everquest Online Adventures, Eternal Sonata, the Animal Crossing series, Katamari Damacy, and Rhapsody: A Musical Adventure. She lives on junk food, and her favorite books are equally trashy. She doesn't believe in putting two spaces after a period, but she does strongly believe in the serial comma. Unfortunately, she has a penchant for starting sentences with "and" and "but;" hopefully you won't hold that, or her excessive use of semicolons, against her.

4 responses »

  1. zheta42 says:

    The spacebar chains drove me batty! Spacebar is totally for jump! I turned them off completely messing around in the beta. xD

    • Amanda says:

      Every once in a while I’ll see Trav hop mid-fight and know one of his chains got goofed up for one reason or another. Always gives me a good giggle.

  2. […] than I am. I’m much too timid — too afraid of getting squashed. Plus, remember my rant about chained skills? Well, they’re quite useful for Priest […]

  3. […] of our big concerns with Tera was, as I’ve mentioned before, whether I, the anti-WASD poster girl could even play it. But, it turned out that it felt […]

Let me know what you think:

