My mother-in-law holds a strong belief in the horoscope-like Destiny Cards. Your birth date corresponds to a certain card from a deck of playing cards, and that card represents your personality and dictates how your life will turn out. According to The Cards, my husband and I are each a seven of different suits.

For him, this means that he sees me through rose-colored glasses. I’m not sure what it means for me. I have a hard enough time remembering to check my horoscope more than once every six months. Regardless, dear Travis will forever see me as wonderful, even when I’m being a snotty brat.

Which brings me to Tera, one of the most enjoyable game I’ve played in a long time. Maybe ever. It even seems like the things people dislike about the game I love. The quests suck? Good! I can get back to fighting faster. The gear models are all too risque? It’s usually not something I go for in other games, but I like it in Tera. So, I’ve obviously got heart-shaped, rose-colored glasses superglued to my nose.

Wow, that's a lot of game time.

We’ve both subscribed for a 6-month chunk. The discount was too good to pass up.

At this point, we’ve got two real concerns with the overall game. Our first worry is regarding end-game. Since we don’t go for the typical end-game, will there be anything for us to do? Can we jump into Nexuses without being harassed or yelled at? Will there continue to be BAMs and world bosses out in the open world that a duo can take down? We’ve got no problem just making alts and killing in Tera, so we’ve got that no matter what at least.

Our second concern is the population. Tera has pretty much the worst playerbase we’ve ever seen. I don’t know if it’s just a vocal minority making the forums and the global LFG channel terrifying, but these people are out of control. Maybe this action combat concept just draws in a gruffer crowd. Battlegrounds are supposed to be introduced toward the end of summer, and we worry about playing with these people.

“Poor #TERA. I can’t imagine how one of the best MMOs has possibly the absolute worst community I’ve ever seen.”
@clockworkfaerie

I’m crossing my fingers in hopes that some of these trolls won’t be around now that the free 30 days have passed for most. We’ll see, I suppose. If they stay, I could always just tape some pink plastic wrap to my screen and pretend the trolls are the best thing since sliced bread.

About Amanda

Amanda is a 20-something flailing gamer. While she loves MMORPGs, the company in them often triggers flare-ups of her social anxiety. Her all-time favorite games include Everquest Online Adventures, Eternal Sonata, the Animal Crossing series, Katamari Damacy, and Rhapsody: A Musical Adventure. She lives on junk food, and her favorite books are equally trashy. She doesn't believe in putting two spaces after a period, but she does strongly believe in the serial comma. Unfortunately, she has a penchant for starting sentences with "and" and "but;" hopefully you won't hold that, or her excessive use of semicolons, against her.

Let me know what you think:

