How Not to Game's Links I Liked This Week

My anxiety often gets the best of me. I don’t usually comment on blog posts that I read because it takes me so long to muck around trying to come up with a comment that I can finally accept as submit-worthy.

It can take me 15 minutes to draft a response that amounts to “Well said.” I clam up and delete and reiterate and re-draft. Sometimes I even delete the whole thing and try again later. Usually I just delete what I’ve written and leave. This leaves me feeling ridiculously guilty. I want people to know I’ve read and appreciated what they’ve written because I know how delighted I get when I see someone’s commented.

Because of this, I lean heavily on things like retweeting on Twitter or Liking on Facebook. And, to my great delight, I’ve just discovered that WordPress has a handy Like feature as well. I can click one button and say, “Hey! I was here, and I appreciated this.” All without having to worry about whether I’ve accidentally implied the author had tentacles or that they might read my response and think I’m just a spastic cocker spaniel (with admittedly amazing typing skills) because of my ridiculously enthusiastic and unremarkable responses.

In addition to my one-click admiration, I thought it might be nice to put a post up each Sunday* mentioning the wonderful links I liked.

So, without further adieu, here are this week’s Links I Liked, according to WordPress.com’s Likes page:

    1. * It’s Time … FOR ROCKET CAMELS. This one is ridiculously self-explanatory. There is no better time than right now for me to be able to get my hands on a rocket camel. Except, you know, from a safe distance, especially if that thing was set up by one of those dangerously unstable short races.
      * Challenge: Frankenstein your own MMO. I love this idea. I’ve been toying with this kind of thing in my head for some time now. I’d love to try to put some of it to words in a future post, and oh my word it would be such a hot mess. I can’t wait to cobble together my own mutated game concept.
      * How my kids saved gaming for me. This made me wonder what kind of research has been done around marathon gaming sessions. Does our brain take it all in the same way it does if we only play for a short chunk of time? If it’s more ideal to study in short bursts, should we be gaming that way too?
      * NBI: Month Wrapup. Okay, so you’ve probably already seen this if you’ve been on any gaming blog other than mine in the last few days. It’s definitely worth a look or three hundred though. There are some amazing blogs on that list, and the advice posts are nothing to sneeze at either. Well, unless you’ve got a hanky.
  • *I’m sort of wary about putting myself to a weekly schedule like this, but maybe we’ll just call it Not My Fault if something goes awry and I forget about this whole idea. Like, if I’ve forgotten by this upcoming Saturday, it was obviously a Confundus Charm, right?

    About Amanda

    Amanda is a 20-something flailing gamer. While she loves MMORPGs, the company in them often triggers flare-ups of her social anxiety. Her all-time favorite games include Everquest Online Adventures, Eternal Sonata, the Animal Crossing series, Katamari Damacy, and Rhapsody: A Musical Adventure. She lives on junk food, and her favorite books are equally trashy. She doesn't believe in putting two spaces after a period, but she does strongly believe in the serial comma. Unfortunately, she has a penchant for starting sentences with "and" and "but;" hopefully you won't hold that, or her excessive use of semicolons, against her.

    6 responses »

    1. quadzi says:

      First I would like to thank you for linking to my blog and I’m glad you appreciated my FrankenMMO idea. I completely understand the drafting and redrafting comments and posts until you just scrap the whole idea.

      I actually have several “drafts” that have sat around because I wasn’t sure if I should post them or not since they were more random things thrown on a page instead of a carefully crafted well-thought out post. I haven’t even told any of my real life friends about my blog and while my wife knows it exist, I keep “forgetting” so send her the link. :)

      • Amanda says:

        Your comment reminded me of this post by Cynwise. Cherish your words! The more you practice and publish, the better you’ll get. Especially if you allow outside input.

        Oh, and I’m totally the same way about my real life friends. I silently stuck a link to the blog on my Facebook, and, well, I haven’t exactly made any lasting readers that way. They’re just not gamers unfortunately.

        • quadzi says:

          My problem currently is that I’ve stopped polishing… I tend to just crap out something on the page and it’s more of a stream of thoughts than anything well crafted. Although, that’s always how I’ve tended to write papers and whatnot in school, so I’m not too worried about it. Hard enough to find time to post, let alone taking the time to post something grammatically correct!

        • Amanda says:

          Call it “character” or “stylized” rather than “stream of thoughts” and I think you’ve got the making of something great. ;)

    2. Prinnie Dood says:

      Hooray! Thanks for the link. It spreads the Rocket Camel word!

    Let me know what you think:

    