Castanic Warrior

I quit my Warrior.

Just like that, I quit. I gave up. I got frustrated one time, and it was no more.

I thought I was doing okay at the Warrior. I was able to dodge attacks pretty well. Sure, I’d take a hit or two here or there, but that’s okay. I’m just better at classes with a block mechanic than a dodge mechanic. The timing on dodging is a bit tricky; I’m not so great at those last-minute narrow escapes.

So when we stumbled across Dur Barak, a non-BAM World Boss tucked in a corner of Oblivion Wood’s Berzerad Cemetary, I dove right in, not even waiting for a confirmation of readiness from Trav.

Dur Barak, World Boss in Berzerad Cemetary, Oblivion Woods, Arcadia

I saw the first swing of his massive sword coming and dove forward. I was a bit irritated when it still hit me, but I must have mistimed my evade. No big deal.

Now I was off to his side, safely out of harm’s way, free to do a little damage. But, no! His arcing swing rocked through me with another 700+ damage. Then another came through with his follow-up back swing.

Oi.

Okay, I’m down a little health. It’s not a big deal. The Mystic can’t really heal yet, beyond the HoT motes. I’d have to run and pick one up though. I decided against that to better keep an eye on this wide-swinging fiend.

Through the course of combat, I found myself back at Dur Barak’s front with the mountainside right behind me. This was not ideal for maneuvering. As the next swing came around, I evaded to my left, getting hit by some devastating combo that left me nearly dead.

As my screen flashed red to warn me of my peril, I did the only thing I could to save myself. I sprinted for the healing mote. I hadn’t moved two steps before I, again, found myself taking a combo of damage. I watched my health drain down while my evade sat on cooldown.

And suddenly the world went dark.

I had died.

A helpless level 16, left to watch the Mystic kite the beast from my cozy bed of grass.

For yet another kick in the pants, after taking down the skeletal foe, we found that the Mystic held no Scrolls of Resurrection. I was forced to complete the Walk of Shame back from the resurrect point in town.

I was distraught.

I thought back through the fight. I tried to discern my mistakes to learn from them, but I’d tried to dodge two of the attacks that had hit me. I couldn’t have done that any better.

Dur Barak classifies more as a normal mob than a BAM. The BAMs have obvious tells to alert you to an upcoming attack. Normal mobs lean a little harder on the element of surprise. You can see an attack coming, but you have much less time to move out of the way. The problem with Dur Barak is that, because he’s classified as a Party Monster, he still hits much harder than a typical normal mob.

My assessment of the fight left me with only one unmistakable outcome: the Warrior wasn’t for me. Fights are just going to get harder. Dodging is going to become more important. Even if I weren’t to try the Warrior with the mid-30s BAM quests or even some of the more challenging regular quests, I was going to get aced now and then.

So, I quit.

I don’t like losing. I don’t like dying. My anxiety paints failure as humiliating and devastating. I’m not one to get back on the horse, at least not until the sting of embarrassment has faded.

I guess what I’m trying to say is, “I’ll stick with my Lancer’s block, thank you very much.”

About Amanda

Amanda is a 20-something flailing gamer. While she loves MMORPGs, the company in them often triggers flare-ups of her social anxiety. Her all-time favorite games include Everquest Online Adventures, Eternal Sonata, the Animal Crossing series, Katamari Damacy, and Rhapsody: A Musical Adventure. She lives on junk food, and her favorite books are equally trashy. She doesn't believe in putting two spaces after a period, but she does strongly believe in the serial comma. Unfortunately, she has a penchant for starting sentences with "and" and "but;" hopefully you won't hold that, or her excessive use of semicolons, against her.

Let me know what you think:

