I’m really fortunate that gaming doesn’t seem to trigger my migraines. That said, I have a tendency to grab my iPad first thing in the morning, and check my email and Twitter from bed in the dark. And, sometimes, that means I wind up with a day-long migraine. I know I’m lucky with how light my migraines are.

The headache with my migraines usually sits just above my left eye. It’s never ridiculously head-splitting, but it comes with waves of fever and nausea. That’s the part I dread. I beg for anything cold to rest on my face to try to subside the heat and pain. I keep a cold pack at room temperature in the bedroom just because it’s usually colder than my face.

Light bothers me, but I usually lay in bed and watch a movie anyway because I can’t just do nothing. The migraine usually hangs around until I sleep it off.

Not all of these headaches are triggered by the iPad, but in those migraines that are, the culprit is probably posture. Sitting in bed, slumped forward, with my chin tucked against my chest is terrible. Couple that with my eyes pointing down, instead of straight ahead, and no light in the room except the glare of my screen in my eyes, and it’s obvious why I get migraines sometimes.

If I remember to wear my non-prescription Gunnar gaming glasses, the iPad isn’t so harsh on me. Even now as I type this, I’ve forgotten to put my glasses on and feel a little nauseated.

I have a family history of narrow angle glaucoma, so I wonder if the shape of my eyes is partially, or even fully, at fault for how the iPad affects me. I know I don’t hear about legions of migraine-sufferers demanding that Apple fix its products.

I spent yesterday watching the extended editions of Lord of the Rings instead of playing Tera. Even trying to play a little Solitaire on the iPad was too intensive for the headache.

I don’t know what I’d do if gaming triggered migraines in me like it sometimes triggers motion sickness.

Migraine sufferers, how do you beat yours?

About Amanda

Amanda is a 20-something flailing gamer. While she loves MMORPGs, the company in them often triggers flare-ups of her social anxiety. Her all-time favorite games include Everquest Online Adventures, Eternal Sonata, the Animal Crossing series, Katamari Damacy, and Rhapsody: A Musical Adventure. She lives on junk food, and her favorite books are equally trashy. She doesn't believe in putting two spaces after a period, but she does strongly believe in the serial comma. Unfortunately, she has a penchant for starting sentences with "and" and "but;" hopefully you won't hold that, or her excessive use of semicolons, against her.

2 responses »

  1. nerisanda says:

    I’m not cool enough for an iPad, but I’ve noticed that the battle.net/wow forums are not kinds to my eyes at all. Besides the obvious of not reading them, I find that taking breaks often can help. Once I get those lights in my eyes, though, it’s game over and I crawl off to knock back some Ginger Ale (Apparently ginger relieves the constriction of the blood vessels in the brain, which is what apparently causes the pain *shrug*), as much water as I can possibly fill myself with, and a few sleeping tablets.

    The last migraine I had was when I was pregnant with my son, and I ended up in hospital with an IV. Their advice to me was to stay hydrated. Thankfully, I haven’t had one in quite a few years now (Touch wood, I’ve probably just jinxed it!). I feel your pain :(

    • Amanda says:

      Thanks for the excellent Ginger Ale tip! I’ll need to stock up. I also need to be better about hydrating.

      If I feel a migraine coming on, I’m always wary about ingesting anything because I’m so afraid I’ll just throw it back up.

      No fun at all.

Let me know what you think:

