Solrachnus

It’s so nice having a game that you can easily step back into after a number of days off.

When we last logged out of Tera, we were one BAM away from completing a quest for a ring upgrade we both needed, but we were just too drained to finish it that night. Because there is so much to be aware of in Tera, it’s a bit more physically tiring than some of the other MMOs we’ve played.

We generally limit ourselves to a certain amount of BAMs per play session. If we don’t, we both find ourselves starting to make mistakes, like missed blocks or just loss of concentration and awareness.

So when we logged back in yesterday after more than half a week off, we were delighted to find that we still knew what we were doing. And surprised by that fact.

That sounds a little silly, doesn’t it? Like, why should we be so excited over still being competent after being out of game for only a few days? But, you know, in some other games we’ve played it can be hard to re-orient ourselves, especially with underused spells — long cooldowns or less-used specs. Things get forgotten or we’re slow to hit things.

One of our big concerns with Tera was, as I’ve mentioned before, whether I, the anti-WASD poster girl could even play it. But, it turned out that it felt natural.

We would swap between the Tera beta weekends and SWTOR, which we were still occasionally logging into at the time, and I would have trouble remembering how to move around, try to aim spells with the mouse in SWTOR, and forget what spells were for when. Never once did the control confusion fall the other way.

To feel so in tune with Tera is empowering. On the Lancer, I feel like I could tank most anything. And, you know what? It’s still fun.

I hear people say that Tera doesn’t offer anything once the novelty of the combat wears off. But, for me, I’m only playing MMOs for the combat. Quests are just an excuse for me to go kill more things.

I’m already looking forward to our future alts.

And, I sound like a broken record. I just can’t stop singing the praises of this game. It’s been a long time since I’ve felt this much joy while playing something. It’s been a long time since Trav and I have been able to be this successful in an MMO.

When’s the last time you were surprised by something you were able to accomplish in an MMO, even if it wasn’t something tons of people would consider a big deal?

About Amanda

Amanda is a 20-something flailing gamer. While she loves MMORPGs, the company in them often triggers flare-ups of her social anxiety. Her all-time favorite games include Everquest Online Adventures, Eternal Sonata, the Animal Crossing series, Katamari Damacy, and Rhapsody: A Musical Adventure. She lives on junk food, and her favorite books are equally trashy. She doesn't believe in putting two spaces after a period, but she does strongly believe in the serial comma. Unfortunately, she has a penchant for starting sentences with "and" and "but;" hopefully you won't hold that, or her excessive use of semicolons, against her.

2 responses »

  1. Isaac says:

    “I hear people say that Tera doesn’t offer anything once the novelty of the combat wears off. But, for me, I’m only playing MMOs for the combat. Quests are just an excuse for me to go kill more things.”

    Sounds remarkably similar to my biggest attraction to MMO’s. I enjoy the combat and the grinding. I actually get annoyed with games that have more “creative” quests; I’d rather they stick to killing 10 rats :)

    • Amanda says:

      Same here! I’m just chomping at the bit to hit the Accept button. “Just get to the part about where the rats are and how enormous they’ve grown already!”

Let me know what you think:

